Ifong Chen Weddings

March 7, 2014

Charlotte & Erik Engaged!

Charlotte and I were tricked into dating by a mutual friend in the Fall of 2009. The friend told me that Charlotte had a crush on me, and told Charlotte that I had a crush on her. Knowing only that the other had exceptional taste, we each decided that one date couldn’t hurt. So we spent a little time together. Then we spent more time together. Then some more.

 I was managing a political campaign when I met Charlotte, and my job ended with the election soon after. Faced with moving back to my hometown to look for work, Charlotte took a big chance on me by inviting this unemployed guy six years her junior to move in with her.

 I repaid that faith by immediately enrolling in law school and becoming largely unavailable for the next three years. If you’re unfamiliar with the effect of law school on a relationship, a friend of mine analogized it to riding a tandem bike: your relationship is going to get where it was going anyway, just faster. Luckily for me, it only made our relationship stronger, as I grew to realize that I could depend on Charlotte when I needed her most.

With law school and the bar exam now behind us, it has been wonderful rediscovering our relationship. Just like when we first started dating, we have the opportunity to spend actual quality time together. And to our delight, we never get sick of each other; all we want to do is spend more time together. I look forward to doing just that for the rest of our lives.

charlo_B01 charlo_B02 charlo_B03 charlo_B04 charlo_B05 charlo_B06 charlo_B07 charlo_B08 charlo_B09 charlo_B10 charlo_B11 charlo_B12 charlo_B13

2 Comments »

  1. Such a wonderful engagement session! So much happiness and love!

    Comment by Northern Pixel Photography — March 7, 2014 @ 6:45 pm | Reply

  2. Beautiful people result in beautiful photos, and that these are! Thank you for posting them. Love, Mary

    Comment by Mary Dutcher — March 9, 2014 @ 9:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

